Installer errors

Everything about Mars Installer
tinnef
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:26 am

Unread post Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:33 am

Hi, I posted the same on MSFN (here), but found this forum, so I'll give it a go as well:
I like your program, but there are some bugs in it.

One is the command numbering. If a number in the sequence is missing the program stop processing that item.
The %startup% variable seems to be defective. Attached are my ini and log files, and both times where I use %Startup% it fails
In the log are some other errors as well, which I can't explain. Please have a look at it and fix the problem, or let me know what's wrong in my ini file. I triple checked all the files, and they are where they are supposed to be.

The files are atttached to the msfn post.
Also I have one little feature request: more customizability. I would like to adjust all the window colors,etc.
User avatar
Marsianin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1573
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:02 am
Location: Red Planet
Contact:

Unread post Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:57 am

tinnef wrote:One is the command numbering. If a number in the sequence is missing the program stop processing that item.
It's not a bug. It's just a feature :)
tinnef wrote:The %startup% variable seems to be defective. Attached are my ini and log files, and both times where I use %Startup% it fails
Hm...I'm gonna check it ASAP.
tinnef wrote:In the log are some other errors as well, which I can't explain.
If you can't explain may be there are no any errors?
Is there any life on Mars ?
tinnef
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:26 am

Unread post Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:21 am

Marsianin wrote: It's not a bug. It's just a feature :)
Ok, fair enough, but what do you think about changing it so you can skip numbers? This would be very useful for testing purposes.
Marsianin wrote: Hm...I'm gonna check it ASAP.
Cool. Maybe it was an error of mine, but %ALLSTARTUP% seems to work fine.
Marsianin wrote: If you can't explain may be there are no any errors?
Hehe. What I meant was that I could not explain why they happened. They occur in [1] run2 and run3, [11] run8,9,10,11,14 and [12] run6.
It looks like there is a problem with the handling of quotes ("), because I managed to work around it by removing them in the places where it was possible and it works ok now.
User avatar
Marsianin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1573
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:02 am
Location: Red Planet
Contact:

Unread post Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:31 pm

tinnef wrote:Ok, fair enough, but what do you think about changing it so you can skip numbers? This would be very useful for testing purposes.
Ok. I will think about it :)
tinnef wrote:Cool. Maybe it was an error of mine, but %ALLSTARTUP% seems to work fine.
It seems your system doesn't returns startup directory because it's empty in your log file.
tinnef wrote:Hehe. What I meant was that I could not explain why they happened. They occur in [1] run2 and run3, [11] run8,9,10,11,14 and [12] run6.
It looks like there is a problem with the handling of quotes ("), because I managed to work around it by removing them in the places where it was possible and it works ok now.
About quotes
If the first and the last symbols in your run command string is quote
(like Run1="some long filename.exe" "and long parameter") you will need to put it into ' quotes (there are lot examples in my default .ini file, just look carefully).
So your Run command should appear as:
Run1='"some long filename.exe" "and long parameter"'
Is there any life on Mars ?
tinnef
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:26 am

Unread post Sun Sep 23, 2007 3:12 am

Thanks, I had missed the quotes in the example.

I had noticed %STARTUP% came back empty, but since it is not a standard variable (as far as I know) I would think it is an error in the program, especially since ALLSTARTUP does work fine.
In any case I can use it now. Thanks for your help.
User avatar
Marsianin
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1573
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:02 am
Location: Red Planet
Contact:

Unread post Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:10 pm

The program asks Windows internally for Startup folder.
May be your Windows doesn't returns it. I'm gonna check...
Is there any life on Mars ?
Post Reply